For all your cast boo-lit needs.
kyswede
KAC Member
KAC Member
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 2 times

Bullet Casting - Getting started

Post by kyswede » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:59 am

Reloading allows a person on a budget to shoot a lot more compared to factory ammo. It also allows you to tailor a load for your specific gun and purpose. Factory ammo must fit and function in every firearm made in that caliber, possibly over a 100 year span. It is basically "one size fits all".
Cutting grass is the price I gladly pay for not being cold.

kyswede
KAC Member
KAC Member

Re: Bullet Casting - Getting started

Post by kyswede » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:08 am

I have been reloading for over 30 years, mostly .357 mag. & 38 special. A year ago I started loading 45 auto, using fmj bullets at first, then trying lead bullets. My favorite 45, a 1911 with threaded barrel, shoots lead bullets just fine. I pay 12-14 cents each for fmj bullets, making my loading cost $8-$10/50 rounds. With cast bullets, which I can make for 3 cents each, I can load 50 rounds for under $4.

kyswede
KAC Member
KAC Member

Post by kyswede » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:33 am

To make cast bullets you need the following:
1. Lead
2. Bullet mold
3. Pot for melting lead
4. Safety equipment
Lead is found in some wheelweights, solder, roof flashing, old water pipes, x ray shielding (from your dentist), recovered from shooting ranges, and plumbers blocks. It can also be purchased from suppliers like Roto-metals or online (ebay or gunbroker). DO NOT try to recover lead from old car/truck batteries. It is too dangerous (sulfuric acid).
I bought most of my lead on ebay & gunbroker in 1# ingots. These are ready to drop in your pot & make bullets. If you use wheelweights, lead pipes, battery cable ends, sheet lead, etc, you will need to melt them in a different pot, fluxing to remove impurities, dipping out steel clips & other junk, and pouring into ingot molds. I prefer to buy range lead & wheelweight lead already in ingots.

kyswede